Posted by: Botolff | May 4, 2009

The lies were like carpet bombing.

Got a great ride today!  A friend took me up in a single engine two-seat Cessna 152.  He just got his license to be able to take passengers, and I was his first guinea pig…I mean co-pilot.  Here’s a shot of the Space Needle from our plane.

space-needle3

While we were on the tarmac, and my friend was doing his pre-flight inspection, I picked up on the sounds of a pretty loud aircraft taking off from the big runway next to ours.  Although the airfield we were at is large enough to host a 747, few land there.  But military aircraft come through regularly. 

It only took a brief glimpse of the outbound plane to realize that I was staring down the nose of a B-17 Flying Fortress.  What an incredible site, and a powerful tool of warfare.
 b-17-back

“Of the 1.5 million tonnes of bombs dropped on Germany by U.S. aircraft in WWII, 640,000 were dropped by B-17s.”  They were considered a “potent, high-flying, long-ranging bomber capable of unleashing great destruction, able to defend itself, and having the ability to return home despite extensive battle damage.”-Wikipedia.

As I saw the plane fly overhead, a sense of helplessness settled into my soul.  I had an image of the innocent people who got caught between military forces, and met their fate in Germany at the hands of men and women who pulled the levers on the bomb bay doors of these ruthlessly effective machines.  And then my mind shifted. 

I found myself thinking of the thousands of forcefully terminated ministers in our country whose lives and families have been devastated by the carpet bombing of lies that were told to them and about them in the process of their ejection.  During my own termination, I remember trying to find a way to protect myself and my students (many of them elders’ kids) from the shelling that was happening by their parents and other leadership that threw me out.  Lie on top of lie on top of lie built a perfect covering of explosions that kept everything and everyone so disoriented, that they were able to get away with getting rid of me, making it look like my decision, and then rally everyone’s support around themselves.  I even told them that the letter they were going to send out to the congregation about my departure was inappropriate because it wasn’t true.  They sent it anyway, and told everyone in the church that no-one was at fault in this situation.  What a manipulative and deceptive tool.

The difference between the effects of a carpet bombing of the B-17s, and compounded lies of a Christian leadership staff, is that you can more easily see the damage caused by the B-17s.  You can’t see as much of the damage of the lies.  But you can feel it…if you’re willing to.  And the more lies that are told, the harder it is to clean up the mess; and the people at the hands of the levers remain in control of the people on the ground.  It’s masterful…truly masterful.  Almost as if someone who hates Truth has got it in for people when they try to pursue it; and will strategically use the kind of people who have the willful conscience to unleash great distruction, defend themselves, and settle back into their comfort zones, in order to accomplish the task. 

“The thief comes to steal and kill and destroy, but I have come that they may have life and have it to the full.” John 10:10 (NIV)

Responses

  1. I wish I knew the truth….I am afraid it is never gonna surface. There is bits a pieces of it everywhere , she said -he said…drowns it out ! Even when asked strait on “what did YOU do to stop the bombing”….I am so confused by the reteric that I truly don’t realize the part that I may have played…. I do realize we ALL have a part….

  2. Kathy, we all have a part in the blame for the situations our churches are in. However, that also means that we all have a part in the solution.

    We all need to step up and take responsibility. So, every one of us has to take a look at and evaluate our churches, their policies, and attitudes when it comes to staffing and leadership.

    Pastors are people, too. So, let’s act like it.

  3. Watchman,…so true…


Leave a Reply

Categories

