Posted by: watchman | May 21, 2009

Pastoral Fitness

Eragon
I have a confession to make: I still read sci-fi fantasy books. I have been doing it since I was a kid. It all started in Junior High with Susan Cooper’s Dark is Rising series and I have been hooked ever since.

Though I am late to it, I have stumbled into the Inheritance series by Christopher Paolini. In the books, a kid (Eragon) is able to ride around on a dragon and cast spells [a fundamentalist just choked] and do generally cool things.

There are certain rules that go with the magic and the cool stuff, however. One of them is that the dragon rider has to be careful not to cast a spell that would require more strength that he could exert. In other words, the rider may cast a spell to pick up a 150lb. person, but it will exact the same toll on him physically. To deal with this limitation, Eragon works hard to keep himself in peak physical condition and therefore expand his limitations.

I found this to be an interesting concept for ministry. My friend and mentor Tom used to tell me that the quality of a person’s ministry has a direct correlation to that person’s proximity to God. In other words, a Christian minister does not succeed (whatever that means) because of talent, hard work or any of those things. Instead, a ministry excels due to their spiritual health.

Tom was right (as usual). I have seen God work so much in the times that my relationship with God was doing well and vice versa. Just as Eragon maintains physical fitness for magical deeds, we should maintain spiritual fitness for relational deeds.

I’m going to stop writing, lest my inner geek reveals anymore of himself.

*By the way, the Eragon movie really stunk. Don’t even bother.

Leave a Reply

Categories

