Posted by: Botolff | June 30, 2009

You Know You’re in Trouble When: Top Twelve Clues I was Being Framed- Clue #1

In the days and weeks ahead, I am going to be adding some short posts to the blog in a series I’m calling, “You Know You’re in Trouble When: Top Twelve Clues I was Being Framed.”  Maybe some of you can relate. 

Here’s Clue #1…

1)      After asking the elders to financially support a mediation meeting that the pastor’s wife and I agreed to attend, due to relational conflict, they told me that whatever was going on between us was about our personal business affairs, and didn’t affect the youth group enough to warrant them paying for it. (First, they never asked one question about what the conflict was.  They just decided what the problem was for themselves, and somehow concluded from their uninformed deductions that it didn’t affect the youth group.  Second, how is it that conflict that is happening between the pastor’s wife and the youth pastor doesn’t affect the youth group when they have been the only two adults chaperoning the students every week for almost two years?  When senior leadership decides to avoid any relational conflict and unilaterally decide what the problem is with no questions asked, you know you’re in trouble…and frankly so is everyone else.)

Responses

  1. “When senior leadership decides to avoid any relational conflict and unilaterally decide what the problem is with no questions asked, you know you’re in trouble…”

    Spot on, bro.

    A deacon confronted my wife on her church clothing.
    I knew I was in trouble when I went to the boss and asked permission to punch the deacon and the Senior Pastor told me to leave it alone and that it really wasn’t my business. I could not even confront him.

    leadership, ftl

  2. Watchman one question I need you to answer but you are under no obligation to answer…. was it _____________? [moderator edit: Kathy, took out the church you named]

  3. Kathy, the answer to your question is yes and any further details feel free to call or email. There are some legal reasons I need to keep details out of this venue.

    Sorry.


Leave a Reply

Categories

